MAGNUS BACKSTEDT JOINS CYCLING TV FOR TOUR OF CALIFORNIA!

WIN EXCLUSIVE, ONE-OF-A-KIND HINCAPIE SPORTSWEAR JERSEYS - SEE BELOW

PLAY THE BEAT THE BRAINS TOUR OF CALIFORNIA SPECIAL NOW!

AMGEN Tour of California

The Tour of California might have only seen its first edition in 2006, but it has already become a key fixture in American cycling. Attracting the cream of US cycling as well as some of the biggest names and teams from Pro Tour and Continental cycling, the race is American cycling's most prolific event, and its position in the cycling calendar means that it also has the proven capacity to affect the key discourses of the early cycling season, with known riders displaying their form and unknown riders emerging to make a name for themselves.

Past editions of the Tour of California have provided an exciting, diverse course, and 2009 promises to be even bigger and better than last year. The European riders will be out to make their mark on a race that has been dominated by American riders, but so too will be the non-Pro Tour American riders, who've been overshadowed in the race for the overall by their big-name counterparts in both of the previous editions. A favourite of the fans, media and, seemingly, riders themselves, the Tour of California has been a bona-fide success, and the nature its set-up undeniably provides for the global future of cycling.
 

Watch it on Cycling TV

You can watch the AMGEN Tour of California live COMPLETELY FREE on Cycling TV. There's no need to miss any of the action, but if you do, we'll have full highlights and as live from the event for you to enjoy at your leisure, also for free.

Join Martin McCrossan and Magnus Backstedt every day for full live coverage, daily re-runs and highlights.

The event will be available to users in North America, Australia and South Africa.
 

Schedule

Prologue - 14 Feb, 4.30pm EST (21:30 GMT)
Stage 1 - 15 Feb, 5.30pm EST (22:30 GMT)
Stage 2 - 16 Feb, 12pm EST (17:00 GMT)
Stage 3 - 17 Feb, 4.30pm EST (21:30 GMT)
Stage 4 - 18 Feb, 3.30pm EST (20:30 GMT)
Stage 5 - 19 Feb, 3.30pm EST (20:30 GMT)
Stage 6 - 20 Feb, 3.30pm EST (20:30 GMT)
Stage 7 - 21 Feb, 4.30pm EST (21:30 GMT)
Stage 8 - 22 Feb, 4.30pm EST (21:30 GMT)
 
 

Route maps

We've teamed up with MapMyRide to bring you interactive route maps for every stage of the Tour of California.

Prologue - Sacramento (3.69km)
Stage 1 - Davis to Santa Rosa (171km)
Stage 2 - Sausalito to Santa Cruz (197.13km)
Stage 3 - San Jose to Modesto (168.48km)
Stage 4 - Merced to Clovis (196.77km)
Stage 5 - Visalia to Paso Robles (226.27km)
Stage 6 - Solvang TT (24.13km)
Stage 7 - Santa Clarita to Pasadena (149.03km)
Stage 8 - Rancho Bernardo to Escondido (161.6km)
 

 

We're offering you the chance to win one of three exclusive, one-of-a-kind Hincapie Sportswear Tour of California jerseys. These are the exact same jerseys made up for George Hincapie, Lance Armstrong, and all the other stars -- NOT just replicas!

For more information, visit the competition's page!
 

More information

We'll have a live chat every day on the Innertube, where users can  interact with the commentators, discuss the race, surprise us all with their predictions, ask questions to our experts, or just discreetly keep up with the race at work.